Boehner to Name Ranking Members to Ethics, Administration

Posted January 9, 2009 at 10:47am

House Minority Leader John Boehner (R-Ohio) is expected to appoint Rep. Jo Bonner (R-Ala.) as ranking member on the House ethics committee, and Rep. Dan Lungren (R-Calif.) to take the top GOP slot on the House Administration Committee, sources confirmed Friday.

Bonner replaces Rep. Doc Hastings (R-Wash.), who was prevented by internal party rules from serving another term as ranking member. Lungren, meanwhile, takes over for Rep. Vernon Ehlers (R-Mich.), who chose not to serve as ranking member on Administration in the 111th Congress.

Republican Reps. Gresham Barrett (S.C.), Mike Conaway (Texas), John Kline (Minn.) and Charlie Dent (Pa.) will join Bonner on the oversight panel.

Reps. Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) and Gregg Harper (R-Miss.) will serve with Lungren on House Administration.

It is still unclear who will serve as the new chairman of the Committee on Standards of Official Conduct. Rep. Gene Green (D-Texas) told Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) in December he did not wish to continue chairing the panel that he took control of last August after the sudden death of Chairwoman Stephanie Tubbs Jones (D-Ohio).

Rep. Robert Brady (D-Pa.) will return as chairman of the House Administration Committee.