Skip to content

Nation: Liberal Groups Knock GOP in Stimulus Ads

Two major union organizations — Americans United for Change and the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees — are targeting 21 Members with radio and TV advertisements for voting against the stimulus bill in Congress.

The organization will air a radio ad, “Second Chance,” targeting 18 House Members and three Senators across the country for voting against the stimulus measure. The groups are also airing a TV ad, “No is Not an Option” on national and cable stations in the Washington, D.C., market through Friday.

The radio ad will target GOP Reps. Shelley Moore Capito (W.Va.), Blaine Luetkemeyer (Mo.), Jo Ann Emerson (Mo.), Jim Gerlach (Pa.), Charlie Dent (Pa.), Fred Upton (Mich.), Todd Platts (Pa.), Mike Castle (Del.), Candice Miller (Mich.), Michael Turner (Ohio), Steven LaTourette (Ohio), Patrick Tiberi (Ohio), Eric Cantor (Va.), Dave Reichert (Wash.), Bill Cassidy (La.), John Fleming (La.) and Brett Guthrie (Ky.), in addition to Democratic Rep. Jim Cooper (Tenn.) and GOP Sens. George Voinovich (Ohio), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska) and John Ensign (Nev.).

Recent Stories

Florida’s Rick Scott enters race to be next Senate GOP leader

Louisiana abortion drug bill latest front in post-Dobbs fight

Capitol Lens | Grant-ing access

Democrats refer ‘big oil’ investigation to Justice Department

Congress appoints Army veteran Thomas Austin as new architect of the Capitol

Bynum’s primary win boosts Democrats’ chances to flip Oregon seat