Skip to content

DCCC Names ‘Red to Blue’ Co-Chairmen

The Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee has tapped four Members to lead its efforts to win Republican-held districts in the 2010 election cycle, which is expected to be a tough one for the party.

The DCCC announced that Reps. Bruce Braley (Iowa), Donna Edwards (Md.), Patrick Murphy (Pa.) and Allyson Schwartz (Pa.) will serve as co-chairmen of its “Red to Blue” program, which targets Republican-held open seats and GOP Members.

“The DCCC is focused on not only protecting our threatened incumbents, but also staying aggressively on offense,” DCCC Chairman Chris Van Hollen (Md.) said in a statement. “The talented leadership of our battle-tested Red to Blue chairs Bruce Braley, Allyson Schwartz, Patrick Murphy, and Donna Edwards will ensure Democratic candidates have the infrastructure and support they need to be successful.”

Van Hollen also announced that DCCC Vice Chairwoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz (Fla.) and Recruitment Chairman Steve Israel (N.Y.) will take on “additional responsibility this cycle with Democratic incumbents who are not on the” DCCC’s “Frontline” program, which aids Democrats’ most vulnerable Members.

Recent Stories

It’s time to step up efforts to maximize the CHIPS and Science Act

Kissinger and the Capitol

House GOP takes new tack in advancing conservative election bills

Capitol Lens | Pointing out

House debates Rep. George Santos expulsion ahead of Friday vote

Senate Democrats authorize subpoenas related to Supreme Court ethics probe