Skip to content

DCCC, DSCC Press Aides Moving On

Two top staffers for the Democratic campaign committees in the House and Senate announced Thursday they are leaving their positions.

Ryan Rudominer is leaving the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee after four years in the press shop, and Deirdre Murphy is leaving the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee. Neither announced a next move.

Murphy was national press secretary during the 2010 cycle, her second stint at the committee. Prior to that she worked for Sen. Michael Bennet (D-Colo.). Murphy was also a press secretary for Sen. Charles Schumer (N.Y.) and worked on the presidential campaign of then-Sen. Hillary Rodham Clinton. Earlier this week, DSCC Chairwoman Patty Murray named Guy Cecil to be her executive director, replacing J.B. Poersch, who has not announced where he’s headed.

Rudominer announced his departure in an e-mail to reporters Thursday. He was national press secretary for the 2010 cycle and served as Midwest regional press secretary in the 2008 cycle.

Following a difficult cycle in which the Republicans had a net gain of 63 House seats, the DCCC has a new chairman at the helm, Rep. Steve Israel (N.Y.). Robby Mook, who had handled independent expenditures for the DCCC, will be executive director. Mook is replacing Jon Vogel, who will continue to serve as a DCCC adviser.

Rudominer was communications director to Rep. Joe Sestak (D-Pa.) in 2007 and was press secretary in Israel’s Congressional office from 2004 through 2006.

There have also been changes at the committee’s GOP counterpart the National Republican Congressional Committee. The NRCC recently named Mike Shields political director, Jenny Sheffield Drucker finance director and Paul Lindsay communications director. Executive Director Guy Harrison will remain for another term.

Leaving the NRCC are Trent Edwards, the field finance director in the last cycle who is leaving to serve as chief of staff for Rep.-elect Scott DesJarlais (Tenn.), and NRCC Deputy Executive Director Johnny DeStefano, who will work for Speaker-designate John Boehner (Ohio).

Lindsay served as deputy communications director last cycle under Ken Spain, who is leaving the committee to serve as vice president of a trade group. Shields, who ran the committee’s independent expenditure unit, replaces Brian Walsh, who is pursuing other opportunities. And Drucker, who served as deputy finance director, replaces Elizabeth Verrill.

Kyle Trygstad and Tricia Miller contributed to this report.

Recent Stories

Biden pick for Social Security chief OK’d by Senate panel

Capitol Lens | Air apparent

Fund for developing nations headlines global climate conference

Hunter Biden agrees to testify at panel hearing, but not closed-door deposition

Roy urges Johnson to reject appropriations ‘side deals’

Capitol Ink | Mistaken identity