Texas: As Filing Closes, Seven Incumbents in the Clear

Posted January 4, 2008 at 4:50pm

The filing season has closed in the Lone Star State, leaving seven House incumbents without any opponent and therefore all but guaranteed of victory in November.

The Democrats are Reps. Al Green in the 9th district and Charlie Gonzalez in the 20th district; the Republicans are Reps. Louie Gohmert in the 1st district, Ted Poe in the 2nd, Jeb Hensarling in the 5th, Mike Conaway in the 11th and Lamar Smith in the 21st.

Meanwhile, Bexar County Commissioner Lyle Larson ended months of speculation last week when he did in fact file to run in the 23rd district GOP primary. Larson is set to battle wealthy attorney Quico Canseco in the March 4 intraparty contest for the right take on Rep. Ciro Rodriguez (D) in November.

— David M. Drucker