Skip to content

Nation: DCCC Sets Up Fund for Female Candidates

The Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee filed papers last week with the Federal Election Commission to set up a combined campaign account for five female candidates.

Money raised by the joint fundraising committee, Women Lead Victory Fund 2008, will benefit Illinois Senate Majority Leader Debbie Halvorson (D), who will face local concrete mogul Marty Ozinga (R) in the race to replace retiring Rep. Jerry Weller; ex-Florida state Rep. Suzanne Kosmas (D), Rep. Tom Feeney’s (R) likely 2008 challenger; and Anne Barth (D), a former aide to Senate Appropriations Chairman Robert Byrd (D-W.Va.) who is challenging Rep. Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.).

Also on the list: Former Nevada state Senate Minority Leader Dina Titus (D), who is challenging Rep. Jon Porter (R-Nev.), and New Jersey state Assemblywoman Linda Stender (D), who is vying for retiring Rep. Mike Ferguson’s (R-N.J.) seat.

Stender, Kosmas and Halvorson are also EMILY’s List candidates.

Freedom’s Watch Keeps Up the Heat

The conservative group Freedom’s Watch hit Democrats with another round of robocalls earlier this week, this time doubling its list to 31 targeted Members. A spokesman for Freedom’s Watch, Ed Patru, would not disclose the size of the buy.

“Hello, I’m Beverly Perlson calling for Freedom’s Watch,” the robocall script reads. “My son, John, just returned from his fourth tour in Iraq and Afghanistan — and I’m tremendously proud of him. But I’m not proud of Congress. … Last week, Congress left for vacation without providing our troops the funding they need. As a result, Adm. Mike Mullen, our nation’s highest-ranking military officer, warned our troops’ paycheck were in jeopardy. This is one military mom who takes it personally.”

Perlson concludes, “get back to work, and vote to pay our troops.”

The targeted Democrats are: Reps. Harry Mitchell (Ariz.), Gabrielle Giffords (Ariz.), Jerry McNerney (Calif.), Bob Filner (Calif.), Joe Courtney (Conn.), Christopher Murphy (Conn.), Tim Mahoney (Fla.), Jim Marshall (Ga.), Melissa Bean (Ill.), Bill Foster (Ill.), Nancy Boyda (Kan.), Dennis Moore (Kan.), Don Cazayoux (La.), Steny Hoyer (Md.), Chris Van Hollen (Md.), Travis Childers (Miss.), Carol Shea-Porter (N.H.), Paul Hodes (N.H.), Shelley Berkley (Nev.), John Hall (N.Y.), Kirsten Gillibrand (N.Y.), Zack Space (Ohio), Jason Altmire (Pa.), Joe Sestak (Pa.), Patrick Murphy (Pa.), Christopher Carney (Pa.), Paul Kanjorski (Pa.), John Murtha (Pa.), Nick Lampson (Texas), Ciro Rodriguez (Texas) and Steve Kagen (Wis.).

— Shira Toeplitz and Matthew Murray

Recent Stories

House passes $95.3B aid package for Ukraine, Israel, Taiwan

Senate sends surveillance reauthorization bill to Biden’s desk

Five races to watch in Pennsylvania primaries on Tuesday

‘You talk too much’— Congressional Hits and Misses

Senators seek changes to spy program reauthorization bill

Editor’s Note: Congress and the coalition-curious