Skip to content

Van Hollen to Be Joined by 50 Candidates at DNC

When Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee Chairman Chris Van Hollen (Md.) addresses the Democratic convention at 4 p.m. MDT today, he’ll be joined on stage by more than 50 Congressional candidates.

The DCCC in a news release took special note to publicize the identities of eight of them. They are: Iraq War veteran Ashwin Madia, who is running for the open seat of retiring Rep. Jim Ramstad (R-Minn.); New Mexico Public Utilities Commissioner Ben Ray Lujan, the favorite in the race to replace Rep. Tom Udall (D), who is running for Senate; former bank executive Christine Jennings, who lost to now-Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-Fla.) by just 369 votes — though the outcome was heavily in dispute; Illinois state Senate Majority Leader Debbie Halvorson, running to replace retiring Rep. Jerry Weller (R-Ill.); former Colorado Board of Education President Jared Polis, the favorite in the race to replace retiring Rep. Mark Udall (D); Dade County Democratic Party Chairman Joe Garcia, who is challenging Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R-Fla.); New Jersey state Sen. John Adler, running to replace retiring Rep. Jim Saxton (R); and former Hialeah Mayor Raul Martinez, who is challenging Rep. Lincoln Diaz-Balart (R-Fla.).