Skip to content

Dingell Announces Whip Team

House Energy and Commerce Chairman John Dingell (D-Mich.) on Friday sought to put more weight behind his bid to hang on to his gavel, releasing the names of 26 lawmakers making up the “first round” of his whip team.

Pushing back against a surprise challenge from Oversight and Government Reform Chairman Henry Waxman (D-Calif.), Dingell revealed a list heavily stocked with the Caucus moderates expected to form his base of support in the developing firefight.

The Dingell team is being co-chaired by Reps. Chet Edwards (Texas), Mike Doyle (Pa.), and Bart Stupak (Mich.). Rounding out the list are:

• Robert Andrews (N.J.)

• John Barrow (Ga.)

• Rick Boucher (Va.)

• Allen Boyd (Fla.)

• Kirsten Gillibrand (N.Y.)

• Charlie Gonzalez (Texas)

• Bart Gordon (Tenn.)

• Gene Green (Texas)

• Stephanie Herseth Sandlin (S.D.)

• Baron Hill (Ind.)

• Jesse Jackson Jr. (Ill.)

• Eddie Bernice Johnson (Texas)

• Jim Matheson (Utah)

• Charlie Melancon (La.)

• Gary Peters (Mich.)*

• Collin Peterson (Minn.)

• Mike Ross (Ark.)

• Bobby Rush (Ill.)

• Mark Schauer (Mich)*

• Heath Shuler (N.C.)

• John Tanner (Tenn.)

• Ellen Tauscher (Calif.)

• Edolphus Towns (N.Y.)

*incoming freshman

Recent Stories

Another year, another disaster aid gap as funding deadline nears

Tall order for lawmakers to finish spending bills next week

Capitol Ink | It’s gotta be the shoes

Truck rule is first test drive of federal autonomous vehicle oversight

One plan to modernize Congress? A coworking space

In Congress and courts, a push for better care for trans prisoners