Pelosi Names New Staffers

Posted February 3, 2009 at 5:42pm

Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) announced Tuesday that Karen Wayland will serve as her new policy adviser for energy; Anne Cannon MacMillan will serve as her new policy adviser for agriculture, veterans, small business and rural outreach; and Bridget Fallon will serve as her new director of protocol and special events.

All three staffers will begin their duties this month.

Wayland is currently the legislative director for the Natural Resources Defense Council and is an adjunct professor at Georgetown University. She is replacing Amy Fuerstenau, who recently relocated to San Francisco to work for Energy Foundation.

MacMillan currently serves as legislative director for Rep. Dennis Cardoza (D-Calif.). She will replace Melissa Shannon, who recently left the Speaker’s office for the private sector.

Fallon currently serves as Pelosi’s director of scheduling and also previously worked for Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-Calif.). She is replacing Micaela Fernandez, who now serves as special assistant to President Barack Obama and director of Oval Office operations.