Flipping for NFL Greats

Posted May 9, 2012 at 12:01am

The thing about currency is that it’s, well, current. Not so in Congress.

Take the push to have the Treasury Department crank out commemorative coins to celebrate the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s upcoming 50th anniversary. Rep. Jim Renacci (R-Ohio) is quarterbacking that effort but has been sacked.

According to Renacci’s staff, Congress can only queue up three orders of keepsake coinage per year. And lawmakers have met that quota. So the earliest any Congressionally approved NFL novelty loot would appear is 2016.

Pro Football Hall of Fame President George Veras declined to name whom the organization might choose to enshrine in pocket change. Inductees Warren Moon, Ozzie Newsome, Bobby Mitchell, Kellen Winslow, Bruce Smith, Howie Long, Harry Carson and Lynn Swann will be cheerleading Thursday in front of the Capitol for bill passage.