Skip to content

Republicans Keep Headliners, Make Program Three Days

TAMPA, Fla. — Republican officials have condensed their national convention to three days by moving almost all of their Monday speakers and activities until later in the week.

“We’ve taken most of the Monday speakers and put them into the Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday schedule,” top Romney strategist Russ Schriefer told reporters on a Sunday conference call.

Scheduled Monday speakers including Speaker John Boehner (Ohio) and former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush have been moved to speaking slots throughout the week. Schriefer said they condensed the schedule by shortening speeches and moving the program start to 7 p.m. each night.

As dark clouds and gusty winds swirled over Cigar City, Republicans scrambled to adapt the nominating convention to a three-day schedule. Weather forecasters expect a strong tropical storm — likely a low-level hurricane — to hit Florida’s west coast on Monday.

Schriefer emphasized no speaker line-ups were changed in the 10 p.m. hour, which is traditionally carried live by the major television networks. Republican National Committee Chairman Reince Preibus will briefly open the convention at 2 p.m. on Monday — a procedural move that will last five minutes.

Additionally, Schriefer waved off earlier reports that officials are considering extending the convention until Friday. But, he cautioned, convention organizers will reconsider the schedule as weather progresses.

Here’s the full three-day schedule, per an RNC press release:

Tuesday, August 28, 2012


Welcoming remarks, and House and Senate candidates and RNC auxiliaries

RNC Chairman Priebus

RNC Co-Chairman Sharon Day

Tampa Mayor Bob Buckhorn

Convention Chief Executive Officer William Harris

Chairman of Tampa Bay Host Committee Al Austin

Republican Congressional Candidates

State Delegate Barbara Comstock (VA)

Representative Tim Griffin (AR)

Republican Senate Candidates

Republican National Committee auxiliaries

Consideration of convention committee reports

RNC Chairman Reince Priebus

Committee on Credentials Chairman Mike Duncan

Committee on Permanent Organization

Chairwoman Zoraida Fonalledas

Convention Permanent Chairman, Speaker John Boehner, Presiding

Official Convention Photograph

Committee on Rules Chairman, John Sununu

Committee on Resolutions Chairman, Governor Bob McDonnell

Committee on Resolutions Co-Chairman, U.S. Senator John Hoeven

Committee on Resolutions Co-Chairman, U.S. Rep. Marsha Blackburn

Roll Call for Nomination of President of the United States

Roll Call for Nomination of Vice President of the United States

6:40 p.m. Recess

7:00 p.m. Reconvene

Remarks by Speaker John Boehner

Remarks by RNC Chairman Reince Priebus

Video and remarks by Mayor Mia Love (Saratoga Springs, UT), U.S. congressional candidate

Remarks by Janine Turner

Remarks by former U.S. Senator Rick Santorum

Remarks by Host, U.S. Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers

8:00 p.m. Remarks by U.S. Senator Kelly Ayotte (NH), accompanied by Jack Gilchrist

Remarks by Governor John Kasich (OH)

Remarks by Governor Mary Fallin (OK)

Remarks by Governor Bob McDonnell (VA), accompanied by Bev Gray

Remarks by Governor Scott Walker (WI)

9:00 p.m.

Remarks by Governor Brian Sandoval (NV)

Remarks by Sher Valenzuela (small business owner, candidate for DE Lt. Governor)

Remarks by Senate Republican Candidate Ted Cruz (TX)

Remarks by Artur Davis

Remarks by Governor Nikki Haley (SC)

10:00 p.m.

Remarks by Mrs. Luce’ Vela Fortuno

Remarks by Mrs. Ann Romney

Remarks by Governor Chris Christie (NJ)

Benediction by Sammy Rodriguez



Wednesday, August 29, 2012


7:00 p.m.

Convention convenes; Call to order

Introduction of Colors by Amputee

Veterans of America Support Team (AVAST)

Pledge of Allegiance by Brigadier

General Patrick E. Rea, US Army (Ret.)

National Anthem sung by Ayla Brown

Invocation by Ishwar Singh

Ron Paul Video

Remarks by Senate Republican Leader and Convention Temporary Chairman Mitch McConnell (KY)

Remarks by Senator Rand Paul (KY)

Remarks by Christopher Devlin-Young and Jeanine McDonnell

8:00 p.m.

Remarks by Senator John McCain (AZ)

Remarks by Attorney General Pam Bondi (FL) and Attorney General Sam Olens (GA)

Remarks by Governor Bobby Jindal (LA)

Remarks by Senator John Thune (SD)

Remarks by Senator Rob Portman (OH)

9:00 p.m.

Remarks by Governor Luis Fortuno (PR)

Remarks by Governor Tim Pawlenty (MN)

Bush 41, 43 Film

Remarks by Mike Huckabee

10:00 p.m.

Remarks by Condoleezza Rice

Remarks by Governor Susana Martinez (NM)

Remarks by vice presidential nominee Rep. Paul Ryan

Benediction by Archbishop Demetrios



Thursday, August 30, 2012


7:00 p.m.

Convention convenes;  Call to order

Introduction of Colors US Central

Command Joint Forces Color Guard Team

Pledge of Allegiance by Dylan Nonaka

National Anthem sung by SEVEN

Invocation by Ken and Priscilla Hutchins

Remarks by U.S. Rep. Connie Mack (FL)

Reagan Legacy Video

Remarks by Newt and Callista Gingrich

Remarks by Craig Romney

8:00 p.m. Remarks by Governor former Jeb Bush (FL)

Remarks by Bob White, chairman of Romney for President campaign

Remarks by Grant Bennett

Remarks by Tom Stemberg

9:00 p.m.

Remarks by former Massachusetts Lt. Governor Kerry Healey

Remarks by Jane Edmonds, former Massachusetts Secretary of Workforce

Remarks by Olympians Michael Eruzione, Derek Parra and Kim Rhode

10:00 p.m.

Remarks by U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (FL)

Remarks by presidential nominee Mitt Romney

Benediction by Archbishop Timothy M. Dolan

Speaker Boehner declares convention adjourned