Skip to content

House Chairmen and Ranking Members in the Next Congress

House leaders have chosen the following members to be chairmen and ranking members of committees in the 113th Congress, with several changes from the 112th Congress.


Chairman: Frank D. Lucas, Okla.

The farm bill remains front and center on the committee’s “to do” list.

Ranking member: Collin C. Peterson, Minnesota


Chairman: Harold Rogers, Ky.

This is Rogers’ second term wielding the gavel in the post-earmark era of fiscal austerity.

Ranking member: Nita M. Lowey, N.Y.*

Armed Services

Chairman: Howard “Buck” McKeon, Calif.

Beyond sequestration, this panel faces a difficult task balancing new security threats abroad and dwindling resources at home.

Ranking member: Adam Smith, Wash.


Chairman: Paul D. Ryan, Wis. The committee’s profile has never been higher given its chairman is a former vice presidential nominee and prospective 2016 presidential contender.

Ranking member: Chris Van Hollen, Md.

Education and the Workforce

Chairman: John Kline, Minn.

Kline is likely to tackle a range of issues punted by the 112th Congress, including replacing parts of No Child Left Behind and an overhaul of federal workforce training programs.

Ranking member: George Miller, Calif.

Energy and Commerce

Chairman: Fred Upton, Mich.

Given President Barack Obama’s re-election, expect more of the same in the form of measures signaling displeasure with the administration.

Ranking member: Henry A. Waxman, Calif.


Chairman: To be determined

This continues to be the most notoriously thankless job in Congress.

Ranking member: Linda T. Sánchez, Calif.

Financial Services

Chairman: Jeb Hensarling, Texas*

New leaders likely means a more contentious atmosphere on the panel as it considers banking and housing regulations.

Ranking member: Maxine Waters, Calif.*

Foreign Affairs

Chairman: Ed Royce, Calif.*

The low-profile Royce has said his main focus will be on preventing Iran from acquiring a nuclear weapon.

Ranking member: Eliot L. Engel, N.Y.*

Homeland Security

Chairman: Michael McCaul, Texas*

Among the incoming chairman’s top priorities is border security, in addition to dealing with foreign terrorist threats.

Ranking member: Bennie Thompson, Miss.

House Administration

Chairman: Candice S. Miller, Mich.*

Miller is a former Michigan secretary of state so she has a keen interest in the committee’s jurisdiction over the federal election process.

Ranking member: Robert A. Brady, Pa.


Chairman: Mike Rogers, Mich.

Rogers and Ruppersberger share a good rapport on a panel where a top priority will be passing cybersecurity legislation.

Ranking member: C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger, Md.


Chairman: Robert W. Goodlatte, Va.*

The new chairman has a full plate with immigration, gun ownership rights, medical malpractice and renewal of the Violence Against Women Act.

Ranking member: John Conyers Jr., Mich.

Natural Resources

Chairman: Doc Hastings, Wash.

Not much is expected to change as the panel focuses on promoting an expansion of oil and gas drilling and developing nuclear, hydroelectric, wind, solar and coal powers.

Ranking member: Edward J. Markey, Mass.

Oversight and Government Reform

Chairman: Darrell Issa, Calif.

Look for Issa to continue his aggressive approach to oversight of the Justice Department and Attorney General Eric H. Holder Jr.

Ranking member: Elijah E. Cummings, Md.


Chairman: Pete Sessions, Texas*

After two terms as chairman of the National Republican Congressional Committee, Sessions takes over for longtime Rules Chairman David Dreier of California, who is retiring.

Ranking member: Louise M. Slaughter, N.Y.

Science, Space and Technology

Chairman: Lamar Smith, Texas*

Smith trades in his Judiciary gavel to take over from Ralph M. Hall of Texas. At Judiciary, Smith paid particular attention to Internet governance and other tech issues, such as the E-Verify system.

Ranking member: Eddie Bernice Johnson, Texas

Small Business

Chairman: Sam Graves, Mo. Graves will likely home in on how small businesses are affected by tax rates and the health care overhaul.

Ranking member: Nydia M. Velázquez, N.Y.

Transportation and Infrastructure

Chairman: Bill Shuster, Pa.*

Shuster, whose father was a powerful chairman of the committee, takes over for John L. Mica of Florida, who was term limited.

Ranking member: Nick J. Rahall II, W.Va.

Veterans’ Affairs

Chairman: Jeff Miller, Fla.

Miller, whose district contains Pensacola Naval Air Station and Eglin Air Force Base, has vowed to prod the Veterans Affairs Department to clear its benefits backlog.

Ranking member: Michael H. Michaud, Maine*

Ways and Means

Chairman: Dave Camp, Mich.

Camp, a member of last year’s Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction, intends to use his position to fashion a tax reform package.

Ranking member: Sander M. Levin, Mich.

*Denotes change from 112th Congress

Recent Stories

At Aspen conference, a call to prioritize stopping gun violence

Appeals court rules preventive care task force unconstitutional

Key players return to Congressional Softball Game, this time at the microphone

Bannon asks Supreme Court to keep him out of prison

Her family saw the horrors of the Holocaust. Now Rep. Becca Balint seeks to ‘hold this space’

Supreme Court clarifies when a gun law is constitutional