DCCC Announces 26 Members on Frontline Incumbent Retention Program

Israel leads the DCCC. (Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call File Photo)
Israel leads the DCCC. (Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call File Photo)
Posted March 5, 2013 at 9:19am

Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee Chairman Steve Israel named 26 of his colleagues to the Frontline program, a committee program designed to protect their most vulnerable incumbents.

“We call this program Frontline for a reason – these Members are on the vanguard of protecting and expanding the middle class,” Israel said in a written statement released Tuesday morning.

“While the 2014 campaign will be dominated by a strong offense taking on the Tea Party Republican Congress, our success begins with our Members,” added Israel, a Democrat from New York. “These battle-tested men and women have proven time and again that they can win because no one better reflects the values of their districts.”

Rep. Tim Walz, D-Minn. will spearhead the program as its chairman. He’s a Frontline alumnus as recently as the 2012 cycle.

Otherwise, the list includes several freshman members and Blue Dog Democrats:

  • Rep. Ron Barber, Arizona’s 2nd District
  • Rep. John Barrow, Georgia’s 12th District
  • Rep. Ami Bera, California’s 7th District
  • Rep. Timothy H. Bishop, New York’s 1st District
  • Rep. Julia Brownley, California’s 26th District
  • Rep. Cheri Bustos, Illinois’ 17th District
  • Rep. Lois Capps, California’s 24th District
  • Rep. Suzan DelBene, Washington’s 1st District
  • Rep. Bill Enyart, Illinois’ 12th District
  • Rep. Elizabeth Esty, Connecticut’s 5th District
  • Rep. Pete Gallego, Texas’ 23rd District
  • Rep.  Joe Garcia, Florida’s 26th District
  • Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick, Arizona’s 1st District
  • Rep. Ann McLane Kuster, New Hampshire’s 2nd District
  • Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney, New York’s 18th District
  • Rep. Dan Maffei, New York’s 24th District
  • Rep. Jim Matheson, Utah’s 4th District
  • Rep. Mike McIntyre, North Carolina’s 7th District
  • Rep. Patrick Murphy, Florida’s 18th District
  • Rep. Bill Owens, New York’s 21st District
  • Rep. Scott Peters, California’s 52nd District
  • Rep. Raul Ruiz, California’s 36th District
  • Rep. Brad Schneider, Illinois’ 10th District
  • Rep. Carol Shea-Porter, New Hampshire’s 1st District
  • Rep. Kyrsten Sinema, Arizona’s 9th District
  • Rep. John F. Tierney, Massachusetts’ 6th District