Skip to content

Fresh Faces for Standing Committee of Correspondents

Reporters from Bloomberg News and CQ Roll Call will serve as the newest members of the Standing Committee of Correspondents for the Congressional Press Galleries.

On Thursday, 203 credentialed reporters cast ballots in the annual elections. Kate Hunter of Bloomberg News and Emily Ethridge of CQ Roll Call won the most votes in the three-way race, besting Marisa Schultz of The Detroit News.

Hunter and Ethridge will serve two-year terms starting Jan. 22. They join Siobhan Hughes of the Wall Street Journal/Dow Jones, Colby Itkowitz of the Allentown Morning Call and Peter Urban of Stephens Media Group.

The two newest members both campaigned on promises to promote journalists’ access on Capitol Hill and maintain the integrity of the press corps. The committee determines which outlets qualify as “bone fide correspondents of repute in their profession,” according to Senate rules, and allocates credentials and workspace for national political nominating conventions and other major political events.

Hunter has covered Capitol Hill on a daily basis for eight years and currently reports on Senate leadership.

Ethridge covers health care policy with six years of congressional reporting under her belt.

The pair replaces outgoing committee Chairman David Lightman of McClatchy Newspapers, and John Donnelly of CQ Roll Call, the current secretary.

Recent Stories

At Aspen conference, a call to prioritize stopping gun violence

Appeals court rules preventive care task force unconstitutional

Key players return to Congressional Softball Game, this time at the microphone

Bannon asks Supreme Court to keep him out of prison

Her family saw the horrors of the Holocaust. Now Rep. Becca Balint seeks to ‘hold this space’

Supreme Court clarifies when a gun law is constitutional