Exclusive: NRCC Announces 12 Members in Patriot Program

Rep. Greg Walden of Oregon is the NRCC Chairman. (Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call File Photo)
Rep. Greg Walden of Oregon is the NRCC Chairman. (Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call File Photo)
Posted February 13, 2015 at 3:47pm

The National Republican Congressional Committee announced 12 members will kick-start its Patriot Program for the House GOP’s most vulnerable incumbents, according to a news release provided first to CQ Roll Call.  

Eleven of the members were elected in 2014, when Republicans made huge gains across the country. The 12 members represent districts where Democrats typically perform well in presidential cycles, making them top targets in 2016.  

“Our new Patriots have just shown that they know what it takes to run aggressive, organized, and winning campaigns,” NRCC Chairman Greg Walden said in a news release. “They have hit the ground running here in Washington and are tirelessly working hard to help grow the economy and fight for the hard working families and small businesses in their districts. I am proud to call them colleagues and am looking forward to helping ensure that they are able to win re-election and continue to serve beyond 2016.”  

The Patriot Program — chaired by GOP Rep. Steve Stivers of Ohio — will provide fundraising and organizational help to its members as Republicans seek to protect their new historic majority. Republicans have a 30-seat majority after picking up 13 seats last cycle.  

In alphabetical order by district, the 12 members in the first round of the NRCC’s Patriot Program are:

  • Rep. Martha E. McSally in Arizona’s 2nd District
  • Rep. David Valadao in California’s 21st District
  • Rep. Carlos Curbelo in Florida’s 26th District
  • Rep. Robert Dold in Illinois’ 10th District
  • Rep. Mike Bost in Illinois’ 12th District
  • Rep. David Young in Iowa’s 3rd District
  • Rep. Bruce Poliquin in Maine’s 2nd District
  • Rep. Frank Guinta in New Hampshire’s 1st District
  • Rep. Cresent Hardy in Nevada’s 4th District
  • Rep. Lee Zeldin in New York’s 1st District
  • Rep. John Katko in New York’s 24th District
  • Rep. Will Hurd in Texas’ 23rd District