Skip to content

Who are the House Republicans who opposed the stopgap budget bill?

Trump won all of their districts; six are House freshmen

Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene, R-Ga., speaks to reporters on the House steps after she voted against a short-term spending bill on Friday.
Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene, R-Ga., speaks to reporters on the House steps after she voted against a short-term spending bill on Friday. (Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call)

Only four of the 21 House conservatives who tanked a temporary spending package Friday that Speaker Kevin McCarthy’s team repeatedly revised hail from districts President Joe Biden lost by less than 10 points, and 18 have races next year rated Solid Republican by Inside Elections with Nathan L. Gonzales. 

Here’s some other things to know about the faction who joined every Democrat in voting against the measure, which was defeated 198-232

  • Only Colorado Rep. Lauren Boebert is projected to have a very competitive race next year, rated Tilt Republican by Inside Elections. Boebert won the closest House race in 2022, beating Democrat Adam Frisch by two-tenths of 1 percentage point. Rep. Dan Bishop of North Carolina’s race hasn’t been rated because of the potential for Tarheel State redistricting, while Nancy Mace of South Carolina’s race is rated Likely Republican.
  • Even with Boebert in the mix, the average Republican who opposed the continuing resolution got 64 percent of the vote and won by 30 points last year. Arizona Rep. Paul Gosar got 97.8 percent of the vote; he had no opponent, but write-ins got 2.2 percent. 
  • Six of the members were first sworn into the House in January: Eric Burlison of Missouri, Eli Crane of Arizona, Cory Mills of Florida, Andy Olges of Tennessee and Keith Self and Wesley Hunt of Texas.
  • Donald Trump beat Biden in 2020 by double digits in 17 of the 21 districts, with his biggest margin being 41.4 points in Burlison’s. The four seats where Trump’s margin was under 10 points were: Mills’ (5.5 points), Crane’s (7.9 points), Boebert’s (8.2 points) and Mace’s (8.6 points).
  • One member of the group is running for Senate. Alex X. Mooney, who beat a GOP colleague to keep his seat in the 2022 primary after reapportionment eliminated one of West Virginia’s districts, is seeking the nomination to challenge Democratic Sen. Joe Manchin III. 
  • The group includes some prolific fundraisers, including Boebert, who took in nearly $2.4 million through June 30; Mooney, who took in more than $2 million, and Marjorie Taylor Greene of Georgia, who raised $1.9 million, according to the most recent disclosures with the Federal Election Commission. But it also includes some who aren’t aggressive fundraisers, including Ogles, who raised $112,000, and Ken Buck of Colorado, who raised $118,000.
  • The 21 Republicans had an average of $744,000 in their campaign accounts on June 30, ranging from $69,000 for Mills to $1.9 million for Hunt.

John T. Bennett and Ryan Kelly contributed to this report.

Recent Stories

Capitol Ink | Mistaken identity

China commission calls for stronger tech export controls

Coupling Ukraine aid with border security is like juggling flamethrowers

Momentum builds for psychedelic therapies for troops, vets

He has a theological degree. Here’s how Rep. Greg Landsman sees faith in Congress

Bipartisan consensus elusive on government retirees’ benefits