Skip to content

Presidential Inauguration

Looking ahead to the 2005 presidential inauguration, the Senate recently approved two resolutions establishing a bicameral committee to oversee the event and allow for the use of the Rotunda for that day’s ceremony. [IMGCAP(1)]

The Senate approved S.Con.Res. 93 and S.Con.Res. 94 en bloc on Feb. 26 to start the institutional wheels moving on the swearing-in ceremony for the president and vice president. The inauguration is scheduled to take place Jan. 20, 2005.

The first resolution allows the Capitol Rotunda to be used as the venue for the swearing-in, while the second creates a joint Congressional committee to oversee planning for the event. The joint committee will consist of three Senators and three House Members appointed by Vice President Cheney — in his role as President of the Senate — and Speaker Dennis Hastert (R-Ill.). In addition to being charged with coordinating “equipment and the services” of other federal governmental agencies for the inauguration, the bicameral commission also “may accept gifts and donations of goods and services to carry out its responsibilities,” according to the resolution.

These two measures have been sent across the Capitol and await action in the House.

— Mark Preston

Recent Stories

House Republicans kick Pelosi out of hideaway after McCarthy ouster

House Republican infighting turns raw during McCarthy floor debate

McCarthy announces he won’t run again for speaker

How the vote to boot Speaker McCarthy played out inside the chamber

McCarthy becomes first speaker in history ousted

Laphonza Butler sworn in to succeed Sen. Dianne Feinstein