Skip to content

Leaders Name Members of Ethics Task Force

Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) and Minority Leader John Boehner (R-Ohio) announced the membership of the bipartisan ethics task force today, which is charged with examining whether the House should establish an independent investigative body to enforce the chamber’s ethics rules. The task force has been asked to report its recommendations back to leadership by May 1.

The Democratic members of the task force will be Reps. Mike Capuano (Mass.), Marty Meehan (Mass.), Bobby Scott (Va.) and Betty McCollum (Minn.). The Republican members are Reps. Lamar Smith (Texas), David Hobson (Ohio), Todd Tiahrt (Kan.) and Dave Camp (Mich.)

Outside advocacy groups have long supported an independent, outside ethics panel, but many Members, including Boehner, have been suspect of such reforms, arguing that the House has a constitutional duty to govern itself.

“In the first days of 110th Congress, a bipartisan majority passed landmark reforms to restore accountability, honesty, and openness to the House of Representatives,” Pelosi said in a statement. “We broke the link between lobbyist and legislators and set our country back on a path to fiscal discipline. These strong rules are significant steps toward honest leadership; enforcing these rules is critical to ensuring every Member of Congress lives up to the highest ethical standard.”

— Susan Davis

Recent Stories

At Aspen conference, a call to prioritize stopping gun violence

Appeals court rules preventive care task force unconstitutional

Key players return to Congressional Softball Game, this time at the microphone

Bannon asks Supreme Court to keep him out of prison

Her family saw the horrors of the Holocaust. Now Rep. Becca Balint seeks to ‘hold this space’

Supreme Court clarifies when a gun law is constitutional