Skip to content

Boyda Rejects DCCC Aid but Seeks Kerry’s

Rep. Nancy Boyda (D), who rejected extra financial assistance from the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee earlier this year, has asked supporters in an e-mail to help her win a fundraising contest being held by Sen. John Kerry (D-Mass.).

Boyda, who represents the conservative 2nd district, turned down an invitation to join the DCCC’s Frontline program for potentially vulnerable incumbents. Her spokeswoman explained that the freshman Member chose not to be included in the program because she wanted to maintain her political independence.

Republicans charge that Boyda’s participation in Kerry’s March Madness fundraising contest proves otherwise.

In Kerry’s contest, posted on his political action committee’s Web site, he asked his supporters to vote for two House Democrats and two Senate Democrats who should receive funding from his PAC. The voting has closed, but the results were not yet available as of press time Wednesday.

“It looks like Nancy Boyda has gone back on her word in exchange for funds from the Democrat[ic] Party’s standard-bearer in 2004,” said National Republican Congressional Committee spokesman Ken Spain.

Spain was referencing previous remarks by Boyda spokeswoman Shanan Guinn explaining why the Congresswoman rejected a DCCC invitation to join the Frontline program.

Said Guinn at the time: Boyda “ran an independent campaign in 2006, and her constituents want to see her run an independent campaign again.”

Boyda’s office declined to comment this week on the NRCC’s criticism.

The freshman Democrat could face a tough fight for re-election next year in the overwhelmingly Republican east Kansas district. Former Rep. Jim Ryun (R), whom Boyda beat in November, already has announced he is running again. State Treasurer Lynn Jenkins (R) also is considering a bid.

Kerry’s contest is designed to help buck up Democrats who are up for re-election next year by increasing their early fundraising tallies. On the Senate side, Kerry supporters were asked to choose whether to send donations from Kerry’s PAC to Sens. Tom Harkin (Iowa), Frank Lautenberg (N.J.), Mark Pryor (Ark.) or Jack Reed (R.I.).

On the House side, two winners will be selected from among Boyda and Reps. Leonard Boswell (Iowa), Christopher Carney (Pa.), Kirsten Gillibrand (N.Y.), Jerry McNerney (Calif.), Patrick Murphy (Pa.), Ciro Rodriguez (Texas), and Carol Shea-Porter (N.H.).
— David M. Drucker

Recent Stories

Eight questions for elections in five states on Tuesday

Paul Pelosi attacker sentenced to 30 years in prison

House Over-slight Committee — Congressional Hits and Misses

Biden kicks off outreach to Black voters as protest threat looms at Morehouse

Editor’s Note: Stock market no panacea for Biden, Democrats

Photos of the week ending May 17, 2024