Skip to content

Senate GOP Leaders Returning

Despite an otherwise grim night for Senate Republicans, it appears the three members of leadership up for re-election — Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (Ky.), Republican Conference Chairman Lamar Alexander (Tenn.) and Conference Vice Chairman John Cornyn (Texas) — will win re-election this evening.

Cornyn and Alexander were widely expected to win easily, but McConnell, facing a strong anti-incumbent sentiment in Kentucky, had been in a close race with Democratic businessman Bruce Lunsford.

Nevertheless, McConnell by mid-evening had been declared the winner, which also brought Republicans one step closer to thwarting Democrats’ hopes of a 60-vote majority.

Recent Stories

McConnell to step down from Senate leadership

Capitol Police hires prosecutor to tackle lawmaker threats

The number Haley, Trump need to worry about heading into Super Tuesday

Biden cracks down on personal data sales to China, Russia

Senate Judiciary panel to hear about federal inmate deaths

It’s still a Biden referendum. That’s not good for him