Skip to content

Hall of Fame Inductees

The Roll Call Congressional Baseball Hall of Fame was established in 1993, when
seven veterans were inducted.

1993: John Tener (R-Pa.)

The founder of Congressional baseball, Tener played in the majors
for four years and was president of the National League.

1993: Wilmer Mizell (R-N.C.)

“Vinegar Bend— played 11 years in the majors and served
in Congress from 1969 to 1975. After one year of pitching, Democrats insisted he play
another position.

1993: William M. Wheeler (D-Ga.)

“Cannonball— Wheeler, a pitcher, served four terms and
helped his team win five straight games.

1993: Ron Mottl (D-Ohio)

Mottl helped Democrats win their first series in 1979. He struck out
eight batters in 1976.

1993: Silvio Conte (R-Mass.)

Under Conte’s leadership, Republicans won an incredible 11
games in a row. In 1968, he hit a double while on crutches.

1993: Bob Michel (R-Ill.)

Michel’s pitching helped carry the Republicans during the
glory years of the 1960s. He hurled a shutout in the first game of the Roll Call

1993: Marty Russo (D-Ill.)

The Democrats had eight wins and one tie in the 18 contests in which
the two-time MVP appeared, beginning in 1975.

1995: Dave McCurdy (D-Okla.)

The Democratic pitching ace fanned 12 in a complete-game 1993
victory and was MVP in ’93 and ’94. McCurdy helped his team clinch the
coveted Roll Call trophy before losing a Senate bid.

1996: Mike Synar (D-Okla.)

A repeat MVP for the Democrats and dugout legend, Synar was a
perennial threat at the plate and on the base paths. He drove in the game-winning RBI
in 1993. Synar died in 1996.

1997: Bill Richardson (D-N.M.)

A veteran of semi-pro baseball in the Cape Cod League, Richardson
played strong defense at home plate. He went a combined 5-for-7 at the plate in 1992
and 1993.

1998: Sid Yudain

Capitol Hill’s very own Abner Doubleday, the founder of Roll
Call revived Congressional baseball in 1962, turning the game into an annual summer
slugfest that raises money for local charities.

1999: Dan Schaefer (R-Colo.)

As a catcher and second baseman for 10 years, he became manager in
1993. His team rebounded from back-to-back losses in 1993 and 1994 to win the next
series in four games.

2000: Carl Pursell (R-Mich.)

Pursell faced a challenge in succeeding Conte as manager, but he
came through to win the Series VI trophy. He won an MVP award for one of his many
dominating performances at first base. Pursell died June 12 at age 76.

2002: Steve Largent (R-Okla.)

A three-time MVP, Largent went 5-1 as the GOP ace, finishing every
game he started. The NFL Hall-of-Famer compiled a 2.44 ERA and held the Democrats to
one run in each of his last three games.

2003: David Bonior (D-Mich.)

Known for his longevity and lasting excellence, Bonior won multiple
MVP awards during his 23 years on the Democratic team. Since Roll Call began keeping
track of statistics in 1991, Bonior hit .375.

2004: Charlie Brotman

Brotman worked side by side with Sid Yudain to revive Congressional
baseball in the 1960s and brought prestige to the game by arranging for the first
contests to be played prior to Washington Senators games.

2006: Martin Sabo (D-Minn.)

One of only two Democratic managers to win a trophy, Sabo played
more than two decades as a player and manager. He was instrumental in increasing the
game’s proceeds to more than $100,000 annually.

2007: Mike Oxley (R-Ohio)

In 2005, Oxley became just the second manager to retire two
trophies. Following a 16-year playing career (manning every position except pitcher and
catcher), Oxley led the team to a 7-1 record as manager.

2008: Lou Frey (R-Fla.)

Between 1968 and 1978, Frey was named the Grand Old Party’s
most valuableplayer three times and was known for his speed on the bases and as
adefensive force to be reckoned with at shortstop. During his years inCongress he was
such an enthusiast for the game that his picture wasincluded on a baseball card that
celebrated the annual Congressionalhardball battle and that card is now a part of the
collection at theNational Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum in Cooperstown, N.Y.

2009: Kenny Hulshof (R-Mo.)

Former high school baseball star won two MVP awards in his 11
seasons, batting .444 and providing stellar defense at first base. Equally important,
the Republicans were 10-1 during his career.

Recent Stories

Graves decides not to run after Louisiana district redrawn

Garland won’t face contempt of Congress charge over Biden audio

Hold on to your bats! — Congressional Hits and Misses

Editor’s Note: Mixing baseball and contempt

Supreme Court wipes out ban on ‘bump stock’ firearm attachments

Photos of the week ending June 14, 2024