Skip to content

The Not-This-Timers: Look Who Broke Ranks On Climate Change Bill

CQ Photo

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi along with Reps. James Clyburn and Steny Hoyer (r.) after the House vote yesterday. (l.) and (Getty)

Most of the 52 House members who didn’t side with their party on Friday’s climate change vote represent congressional districts that backed the presidential nominee of the opposite party in last year’s election.

A lot of these members will face competitive races in 2010, and no doubt they will be brandishing this against-the-grain vote as evidence of their political independence.  

Here’s a catalog of the 44 Democratic “no” and eight Republican “yes” voters, broken down by how their districts voted for president. The bill passed 219-212.

Recent Stories

Kissinger and the Capitol

House GOP takes new tack in advancing conservative election bills

Capitol Lens | Pointing out

House debates Rep. George Santos expulsion ahead of Friday vote

Senate Democrats authorize subpoenas related to Supreme Court ethics probe

Sen. Paul uses Heimlich manuever on choking Sen. Ernst