Moore Won’t Seek Re-Election in Kansas

Posted November 23, 2009 at 7:32am

Rep. Dennis Moore (D-Kan.) is reportedly going to announce today that he won’t seek re-election, making him the first Member of Congress this cycle to announce an outright retirement from the House.

The six-term Democrat’s departure, which was reported first by the Kansas City Star Monday morning, will leave his Republican-leaning district up for grabs in 2010. Republicans have already indicated they plan to target the seat, and several candidates have already expressed interest — including the 2008 GOP nominee.

Moore’s departure also means that there will be open-seat races in three of Kansas’ four House districts next year. Republican Reps. Todd Tiahrt and Jerry Moran are squaring off in the Senate primary and therefore are not seeking re-election.