Skip to content

Hoeven, Crist, Castle Look To Join Senate’s Ex-Gov Club

Gov. John Hoeven (R-N.D.), who entered a Senate race Monday as a heavy favorite to succeed retiring Sen. Byron L. Dorgan (D), would join a coterie of senators who have served as governors.

There are a dozen members currently in that group, which will be no larger in the 112th Congress next year even if Gov. Charlie Crist (R-Fla.), Rep. and ex-Gov. Michael N. Castle (R-Del.) and Hoeven all are elected to the Senate in November. That’s because three members of the club are retiring at the end of this year: Christopher S. Bond (R-Mo.), Judd Gregg (R-N.H.) and George V. Voinovich (R-Ohio)

The other nine include Sens. Thomas R. Carper (D-Del.), John D. Rockefeller IV (D-W.V.), who like Gregg and Voinovich were first elected to the Senate as sitting governors. Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), Evan Bayh (D-Ind.), Ben Nelson (D-Neb.) and Bond were former governors at the time of their election to the Senate, as were four senators first elected in 2008: Mike Johanns (R-Neb.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), and Mark Warner (D-Va.).

Recent Stories

Trump initially sidesteps ‘dictator’ question before adoring Iowa crowd

A tale of House Republicans: The best and worst of times

House panel backs release of Hunter Biden tax probe information

Campus antisemitism hearing includes attacks on diversity, liberals

Tuberville lifts holds on almost all military promotions

Former Florida congressman struggles in Iowa presidential race