Skip to content

Members Supporting Clyburn

Updated: Nov. 8, 6:26 p.m.

The following is a partial list of Democratic House Members who support Majority Whip James Clyburn (S.C.) over Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (Md.) to be the party’s Minority Whip in the 112th Congress, according to a source close to Clyburn, who said that those who had come out publicly were but “a small representation” of the endorsements he has nailed down.

Xavier Becerra (Calif.)

Emanuel Cleaver (Mo.)

Peter DeFazio (Ore.)

Luis Gutierrez (Ill.)

Barbara Lee (Calif.)

Gregory Meeks (N.Y.)

Grace Napolitano (Calif.)

Bobby Rush (Ill.)

Louise Slaughter (N.Y.)

Bennie Thompson (Miss.)

Recent Stories

Former Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, first woman on the Supreme Court, dies at 93

Members want $26 billion for programs the Pentagon didn’t seek

Expelling bee — Congressional Hits and Misses

Appeals court rejects Trump push to dismiss Jan. 6 suits from lawmakers, police

Photos of the week ending December 1, 2023

House expels Rep. George Santos