House GOP Transition Team to Meet Monday

Posted November 8, 2010 at 10:44am

House Republicans on Monday released the names of a 22-member GOP transition team that will begin preparing the House for the 112th Congress this week.

Members of the team, a mix of veteran and incoming freshman lawmakers, will meet Monday night and Tuesday to begin hammering out how to best implement Congressional reforms outlined in the GOP’s “Pledge to America.”

Rep. Greg Walden (Ore.), the chairman of the GOP transition team, told reporters last week that some of the reforms that will be discussed by the group include a mandatory clause in each bill that justifies the constitutional authority to bring it to the floor, the elimination of “omnibus” bills and a rule that mandates each bill be posted online for 72 hours before it can be voted upon on the House floor.

Walden said he spent most of last week calling Members to ask them to join the group.

“The diverse mix of experience, backgrounds, and regions represented by this group will help to ensure this process brings meaningful reform to how Washington does business,” Walden said in a statement. “Each one of these members accepted this responsibility with an encouraging enthusiasm, and I’m thankful to all of them for serving.”

Incoming Members on the transition team include: Reps.-elect Cory Gardner (Colo.), Tim Scott (S.C.), Martha Roby (Ala.) and Adam Kinzinger (Ill.).

Veteran lawmakers on the team include: Reps. Rob Bishop (Utah), John Campbell (Calif.), Shelley Moore Capito (W.Va.), Jason Chaffetz (Utah), Tom Cole (Okla.), Mike Conaway (Texas), David Dreier (Calif.), Bob Goodlatte (Va.), Doc Hastings (Wash), Jeb Hensarling (Texas), Jim Jordan (Ohio), Buck McKeon (Calif.), Candice Miller (Mich.), Mike Rogers (Mich.), Paul Ryan (Wis.), Pete Sessions (Texas), Patrick Tiberi (Ohio).