Skip to content

Boehner Elected 53rd Speaker

Updated: 1:38 p.m.

Rep. John Boehner has been elected the 53rd Speaker of the House.

The Ohio Republican won the support of all 241 Republicans, while 173 Democrats supported Rep. Nancy Pelosi, who has served as Speaker for the past four years. Nineteen Democrats defected against the California lawmaker to support another Democrat or vote present. Of them, 10 supported Rep. Heath Shuler (N.C.), who unsucessfully waged a challenge against Pelosi for Minority Leader in November. Pelosi also lost the support of two Californians, Reps. Dennis Cardoza and Jim Costa, who voted for eachother. Rep. Kurt Schrader (Ore.) voted for incoming Minority Whip Steny Hoyer (Md.). Rep. Peter Defazio (Ore.) did not vote.

Republicans retook the House on Nov. 2, wresting control of 63 Democratically held seats. Boehner has pledged to run a more transparent House with an agenda focused on fiscal discipline and economic growth.

Recent Stories

Butler, the newest senator, worked to elect and defeat many colleagues

Gaetz plans move to oust McCarthy, says GOP needs new leader

McCarthy promises ‘punishment’ over Bowman fire alarm before vote

Shutdown averted as Biden signs seven-week spending bill

Stopgap funding bills hung up in both chambers

Who are the House Republicans who opposed the stopgap budget bill?