Oklahoma, Indiana Finalize New Congressional Maps

Posted May 10, 2011 at 6:30pm

New Congressional maps for Oklahoma and Indiana were signed into law Tuesday, marking the fifth and sixth states that have completed the redistricting process for the 2012 cycle.

Oklahoma Gov. Mary Fallin (R) and Indiana Gov. Mitch Daniels (R) signed off on the redrawn House districts. The number of seats in the two states is unchanged, with nine in Indiana and five in Oklahoma.

Iowa, Missouri, Arkansas and Louisiana had previously completed their 2012 Congressional maps, and Republicans have positioned themselves to make electoral gains in most of those states with official new boundaries.

Indiana Republicans passed a map that moved more Republicans into the district held by Rep. Joe Donnelly (D), who announced Monday that he will run for the Senate instead of seeking re-election to his House district.

Meanwhile, state Republicans shored up the GOP vote in the battleground 9th district, making freshman GOP Rep. Larry Bucshon’s district slightly more Democratic in the process.

The new Oklahoma map only slightly alters the state’s Congressional boundaries. Republican Rep. Tom Cole’s 4th district will cede some population to areas represented by Reps. James Lankford (R), Frank Lucas (R) and Dan Boren (D).