Skip to content

NRCC Boosts Vulnerable Freshmen

The National Republican Congressional Committee has named its first 10 “patriots” of the new cycle, a list largely composed of vulnerable freshmen whom the GOP hopes to strengthen heading into next fall.

The Patriot program, established in 2009, “enables Members to stay on offense as they build winning re-election campaigns,” according to an announcement released Wednesday by the NRCC.

The list includes eight freshmen: Reps. Allen West (R-Fla.), Sean Duffy (R-Wis.), Patrick Meehan (R-Pa.), Lou Barletta (R-Pa.), Mike Fitzpatrick (R-Pa.), Frank Guinta (R-N.H.), Francisco “Quico” Canseco (R-Texas) and Joe Heck (R-Nev.).

Rep. Charlie Bass (R-N.H.), who won back his seat in 2010 after losing in 2006, also made the list, as did Rep. Tom Latham (R-Iowa).

“I applaud the Patriot Members for taking on the challenge of controlling the competitiveness of their races through the strength of their own campaigns,” NRCC Deputy Chairman Greg Walden (Ore.) said.

The new Patriots will see an immediate benefit from their new status. The NRCC and House GOP leadership is set to host a Patriot Day fundraiser June 22 to benefit the new members.

Recent Stories

Capitol Lens | Calm before the storm

Convention puts Wisconsin in spotlight, but it’s used to that

Amid tense election, Secret Service working with already boosted budget

Biden condemns attempted Trump assassination, calls for ‘unity’

Trump rushed from stage after gunshots fired at rally

These Democrats have called on Biden to quit the race