Skip to content

Campus Notebook: Man Charged With Flashing at Capitol

A man has been charged with committing lewd and obscene acts after he was arrested at the Capitol Visitor Center last week on suspicion of exposing himself to minors.

Stephen William Whitney, 46, was taken into custody June 15 after three minors told Capitol Police that he had flashed his genitals at them while they were waiting in line to get into the building, according to police reports.

The boys were on a school trip from a California middle school, said Angelica Garcia, the mother of a 14-year-old boy who was one of the complainants.

She was not there but said her son called her that day to explain the situation to her.

“They were walking, gathering to walk into the tour,” Garcia said when reached by telephone Wednesday. “Some man was exposing his private area to him and to other kids.”

The boys were interviewed and an officer identified Whitney at the North Mezzanine Exit of the CVC based on their description.

Officers arrested Whitney on suspicion of enticing a minor and took him to headquarters for processing.

“The only thing that came to my mind was, ‘Oh my God, what kind of person is this?’” Garcia said. She said her son and the other middle schoolers are home safe now.

Whitney was arraigned June 16 and is awaiting an October trial in D.C. Superior Court, according to court records. He has pleaded not guilty.

His attorney, Megan Allburn, declined to comment.

Printing Committee Selected

Congress on Wednesday approved the membership of the Joint Printing Committee and the Joint Library Committee.

Senate Rules and Administration Chairman Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.) will head the Library panel, which handles affairs related to the Library of Congress and also receives statues and art displayed in the Capitol. Rep. Gregg Harper (R-Miss.) will serve as vice chairman.

Other committee members are Reps. Dan Lungren (R-Calif.), Robert Brady (D-Pa.), Charlie Gonzalez (D-Texas) and Aaron Schock (R-Ill.), and Sens. Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Saxby Chambliss (R-Ga.) and Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.).

Harper will chair the Joint Printing Committee, and Schumer will serve as vice chairman. The panel oversees the functions of the Government Printing Office.

Other committee members are Reps. Dan Lungren (R-Calif.), Robert Brady (D-Pa.), Ander Crenshaw (R-Fla.) and Zoe Lofgren (D-Calif.), and Sens. Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Thad Cochran (R-Miss.) and Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.).

Please send Campus Notebook tips here.

Recent Stories

Former Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, first woman on the Supreme Court, dies at 93

Members want $26 billion for programs the Pentagon didn’t seek

Expelling bee — Congressional Hits and Misses

Appeals court rejects Trump push to dismiss Jan. 6 suits from lawmakers, police

Photos of the week ending December 1, 2023

House expels Rep. George Santos