Skip to content

Boehner Re-Elected as Speaker

Rep. John A. Boehner was re-elected as speaker Thursday, winning election with 220 votes out of 426 cast. Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi of California received 192 votes.

Boehner withstood several defections to secure re-election.

Among the Republican defectors were members who were dumped from plum committee assignments: Reps. Tim Huelskamp of Kansas, Justin Amash of Michigan and Walter B. Jones of North Carolina. However, Rep. David Schweikert of Arizona, another member purged of his seat on the Financial Services Committee, voted for Boehner.

Huelskamp voted for Rep. Jim Jordan of Ohio, the former chairman of the Republican Study Committee. Jones voted for David Walker, the former comptroller general of the United States. Amash voted for Rep. Raúl R. Labrador of Idaho.

Majority Leader Eric Cantor of Virginia got three votes: those of Reps. Ted Yoho of Florida, Steve Pearce of New Mexico and Rep. Jim Bridenstine of Oklahoma.

Former Rep. Allen West, R-Fla., garnered the votes of two conservatives: Reps. Paul Broun of Georgia and Louie Gohmert of Texas.

Recent Stories

Key results from Georgia runoff, Virginia and Oklahoma primaries

CBO: Deficits and inflation higher, but so is economic growth

Senate Democrats try maneuver to pass ban on ‘bump stocks’

Senate report piles on new allegations of Boeing safety failures

Matt Gaetz goes on offensive as House Ethics offers update on probe

Senate spectrum bill markup scrapped over partisan differences