Skip to content

Hoyer Announces Additions to Whip Team

Democratic Whip Steny H. Hoyer announced several additions to his whip team, including Rep. Keith Ellison, a co-chair of the House Progressive Caucus.

Ellison,D-Minn., and Reps. Ben Ray Luján, D-N.M., and Terri A. Sewell, D-Ala., were named chief deputy whips, while Rep. Jared Polis, D-Colo., was appointed the parliamentarian of the whip team.

“In the 113th Congress, we will continue to have an outstanding whip team that, thanks to these new members, is more diverse than ever before,” Hoyer said. “They reflect the diversity of our Caucus, bringing a wide range of views and perspectives to the table.

Ellison, in particular, has emerged as an important Hoyer ally on the left.

Hoyer, who is generally viewed as the most moderate of the House Democratic leadership team, receives some criticism from progressive activists on fiscal matters. Ellison and other liberal Members have expressed their strong support for him.

Polis, who is a member of the House Rules Committee, will serve as parliamentarian, working closely with the whip team to ensure the rights of the minority are protected on the House floor.

“I look forward to ensuring that Republicans do not exploit the rules of the House and that they follow proper procedure. Accountability and transparency are cornerstones of the legislative process. In my new role I hope to safeguard the public interest,” Polis said in a statement.

Other top members of the whip team include Senior Chief Deputy Whip Rep. John Lewis of Georgia, and Chief Deputy Whips Reps. G.K. Butterfield of North Carolina, Diana DeGette of Colorado, Jim Matheson of Utah, Jan Schakowsky of Illinois, Debbie Wasserman Schultz of Florida, and Peter Welch of Vermont.

Recent Stories

Gaetz plans move to oust McCarthy, says GOP needs new leader

McCarthy promises ‘punishment’ over Bowman fire alarm before vote

Shutdown averted as Biden signs seven-week spending bill

Stopgap funding bills hung up in both chambers

Who are the House Republicans who opposed the stopgap budget bill?

Taking it to the limit — Congressional Hits and Misses