Skip to content

David Jolly Wins Republican Primary, and Democrat Alex Sink Wins Funds

While Republicans fought over who would win a special Republican primary, the Democrat rolled in more funds for the special general election in March.

Neither David Jolly, who won the March 14th special Republican primary in Florida’s 13th Congressional district, nor his opponent, Kathleen Peters, had any great surge in pre-election campaign contributions of $1,000 or more, from in-state or out-of-state. But national donors and members of Congress did move funds to the lone Democrat waiting for the special general election.

From December 25th until this past weekend, some of David Jolly’s contributors included $2,500 each from Howard Lutnick (chairman of Cantor Fitzgerald, NY) and his spouse Allison. Cantor Fitzgerald managing director Kent Karosen gave $1,000. The leadership PAC of the late Rep. C.W. Bill Young gave $5,000. Patrick Mooney (owner, PM Creative, FL) gave $2,100. Cobham Holdings Inc. PAC (VA) gave $1,000. Matthew Anthes of Union Square Strategic gave $1,000. Lee Arnold (Colliers International, FL) gave $1,600 and Deborah Arnold gave $2,600. Thomas duPont (duPont Publishing, FL) gave $2,600. Former Florida Governor Charlie Crist gave $1,000.

In the same period, Kathleen Peters received $5,000 each from James and Pauline Henry (owners of Henry Resources, TX); $2,600 each from Kevin Hammer (Thrivent Financial) and Larisa Hammer; $1,000 from Mary Bono Mack Committee; $2,000 from Phares Risser (executive, Risser Oil Corp, FL); among others.

In the same period, Democrat Alex Sink, reported $5,200 from Edith Cofrin (philanthropist, GA); $2,600 from Diane Mosbacker (filmmaker, CA); $1,000 from Donna Boswell (Hogan & Hartson, NC); $1,000 from Joyce Thornhill (DC); $2,500 from Humana Inc. PAC (DC); $10,000 from the National Assn. of Realtors PAC; $2,000 from U.S. Sugar Corp. Employee Stock Ownership Plan PAC; $1,000 from Rep. Jared Polis, D-Colo.; $1,000 from the campaign committee of Rep. Lois Frankel, D-Fla.; $1,000 from the campaign committee of Loretta Sanchez, D-Calif.; $1,000 from the campaign committee of Rep. Anna Eshoo, D-Callif.; and $1,000 from the campaign committee of Rep. Tulsi Gabbard, D-Hawaii; among others.

Recent Stories

Senate spectrum bill markup scrapped over partisan differences

Rules on clean energy prevailing wage, apprenticeships finalized

Capitol Lens | Mega bites

Democrats hail Biden immigration moves that Trump brands ‘amnesty’

Capitol Ink | Plum assignment

Biden rules issued from now on vulnerable to repeal if he loses