Skip to content

DC Lawyers & Lobbyists Already Welcomed Montana’s John Walsh

The Washington legal community of lawyers and lobbyists have already had their hands out to Montana’s John Walsh to give him money, and soon to welcome him to the banks of the Potomac.

John Walsh, D-Mont., Montana’s Lt. Governor, has been selected by Governor Steve Bullock, D-Mont., to fill the unexpired term of Sen. Max Baucus, D-Mont., who has been confirmed as the new U.S. Ambassador to China.

In April 2013, Baucus announced he would not seek re-election in 2014. Walsh filed his statement of candidacy on October 21, 2013.

John Walsh’s campaign committee, Walsh for Montana, reported it had receipts of $583,113 and disbursements of $147,564 during the fourth quarter of 2013, leaving $435,549 cash on hand at the end of the year.

Walsh picked up $194,500 from PACs in the fourth quarter of 2013, including from the American Association for Justice (formerly Assn. of Trial Lawyers of America) PAC $5,000 (formerly Assn. of Trial Lawyers of America); Sheet Metal Workers Int’l Assn. PAC $5,000; United Association Political Education Committee $5,000; VoteVets $5,000;  Common Ground PAC $2,500; Int’l Longshore and Warehouse Union Political Action Fund $2,500; National Air Traffic Controllers Assn. PAC $2,500; AFSCME PAC $2,500; DLA Piper LLP PAC $1,000; Xcel Energy Employee PAC $1,000; Cozen O’Connor PAC $1,000;  including $52,000 from other members’ leadership PACs.

Individual donors from the metro Washington, D.C. area include many lawyers and lobbyists. The contributors include Andrew Athy (O’Neill Athy & Casey); Edward Ayoob (Barnes & Thronburg); Patricia Bauman (Bauman Foundation); Roger Blauvet (Canfield & Associates); John Breaux Jr. (Patton Boggs); Bert Carp (Williams & Jensen); Ann Castagnetti (homemaker); Guy Cecil III (DSCC); Ankit Desai (Cheniere Energy); David Dreher (Pew Charitable Trust); Jerry Driscoll (Forbes-Tate); Thomas  Fay (Fay Kaplan Law); Judith Fazio (retired); Mitchell Feuer (Rich Feuer Group); Shannon Finley (Capitol Counsel LLC); Jeffrey Forbes (Forbes Tate); James E. Ford (ConocoPhillips); Liam Forsythe (U.S. Senate); James Frisk (Mcguire Woods LLC).

Other donors include Steve Glaze (Palmetto Group); Robert Glennon (Hogan Lovells); Mary Scott Greenwood (McKenna Long & Aldridge); Christian Hohenlohe (retired); Thomas Jolly (Williams Mullen); John Jonas (Patton Boggs LLP); Jonathan Jones (Peck Madigan Jones); Keith Kelly (USDA); Sean Kennedy (Airlines for America); Benjamin Klein (Heather Podesta + Partners); Matthew LaRocco (Williams & Mullen); Alexander Lurie (SNR Denton); Heather Martin (Mcguire Woods LLC); Glen Mason (Mason Consulting); Andrew Maxfield (Harstad Strategic Research); James Messina (Messina Group); Al Mottur (Brownstein Hyatt); Erick Mullen (Mercury); Patrick M. Murphy (Three Click Solutions); Lawrence O’Brien III (OBC Group).

More contributions came from Martin Paone (Prime Policy Group); Brian Pomper (Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP); Peter Prowitt (GE); Thomas H Quinn (Venable LLP); J. Curtis Rich (United Technologies); Stephanie Schriock (Emily’s List); James C. Slattery (Wiley Rein LLP); Michael D. Smith (Cornerstone Government Affairs); Stacey Smith (Liberty Partners Group); Amy Tejral (Avenue Solutions); Robert Van Heuvelen (Van Heuvelen Strategies); Mary Bridget Walsh (Pfizer); Andrew Woods (Liberty Partners Group); and Nancy Zirkin (lobbyist, Leadership Conference on Civil Rights).