Skip to content

30 Members, 1 Senator Running Unopposed

Sewell is running unopposed. (Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call)
Sewell is running unopposed. (Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call)

There are 31 members of Congress who will be back in January no matter what. That’s 16 Democrats and 15 Republicans — with Alabama Republican Jeff Sessions being the only senator  without an opponent Tuesday.  

These lawmakers still bring in cash, with Sessions spending nearly $1 million and Democratic Rep. Terri A. Sewell of Alabama raising more than $1.4 million.  

Georgia has the most members running unopposed, with six congressional districts in the ultra-safe category. Massachusetts also has six — all Democrats. Florida has five.  

Here are the incumbents running unopposed, listed alphabetically by state:  

  • Robert B. Aderholt, R-Ala.
  • Terri A. Sewell, D-Ala.
  • Jeff Sessions, R-Ala.
  • Gus Bilirakis, R-Fla.
  • Kathy Castor, D-Fla.
  • Ted Deutch, D-Fla.
  • Mario Diaz-Balart, R-Fla.
  • Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, R-Fla.
  • Lynn Westmoreland, R-Ga.
  • Hank Johnson, D-Ga.
  • John Lewis, D-Ga.
  • Austin Scott, R-Ga.
  • David Scott, D-Ga.
  • Tom Graves, R-Ga.
  • Richard E. Neal, D-Mass.
  • Jim McGovern, D-Mass.
  • Joseph P. III Kennedy, D-Mass.
  • Katherine M. Clark, D-Mass.
  • Michael E. Capuano, D-Mass.
  • Stephen F. Lynch, D-Mass.
  • Robert Pittenger, R-N.C.
  • Grace Meng, D-N.Y.
  • Eliot L. Engel, D-N.Y.
  • Richard Hanna, R-N.Y.
  • Bob Gibbs, R-Ohio
  • Jim Bridenstine, R-Okla.
  • Mike Doyle, D-Pa.
  • Charlie Dent, R-Pa.
  • Tim Murphy, R-Pa.
  • Mark Sanford, R-S.C.
  • Robert C. Scott, D-Va.

Two Republican nominees are running unopposed Tuesday, and also are guaranteed a seat in the next Congress. Former state Sen. Barry Loudermilk won the GOP runoff for an open seat in Georgia. Attorney John Ratcliffe defeated Rep. Ralph M. Hall for the GOP nomination in Texas.  

Related Stories:

The Recount Rules Guide for 2014

Without an Opponent, Jeff Sessions Still Spends

Tim Bishop in Political Peril — Again

Obama’s Midterm Loss Record Could Make History

Roll Call Election Map: Race Ratings for Every Seat

Get breaking news alerts and more from Roll Call in your inbox or on your iPhone.

Recent Stories

Iranian retaliatory attack on Israel flips script as Biden had pressed for changes in Gaza

Total eclipse of the Hart (and Russell buildings) — Congressional Hits and Misses

House plans to send Mayorkas impeachment articles to Senate on Tuesday

Harris sticks with Agriculture spending, Amodei likely to head DHS panel

Editor’s Note: What passes for normal in Congress

House approves surveillance authority reauthorization bill