Skip to content

Exclusive: NRCC Names Senior Staff for 2016

Rep. Greg Walden of Oregon is the NRCC Chairman. (Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call File Photo)
Rep. Greg Walden of Oregon is the NRCC Chairman. (Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call File Photo)

The National Republican Congressional Committee will announce Friday its senior staff for the 2016 cycle and the return of several top aides, according to information shared first with CQ Roll Call.  

“This exceptional team is already working to gain and maintain our majority in the 2016 cycle,” NRCC Executive Director Rob Simms  said in a statement. “We are very fortunate that many members of the team who built the historic majority in 2014, are moving into senior positions to continue helping successful Republican campaigns.” Last cycle, House Republicans picked up a net 13 seats. But party operatives are more wary about 2016, when presidential year turnout likely will boost Democrats up and down the ballot.  

Here is the NRCC’s 2016 cycle senior staff to help House Republicans with that task:  

Political Director John Rogers, an upstate New York native, has been with the committee for the last two cycles, first as a regional political director for the northeast and then as the deputy political director and strategy department director.  

Jon Reedy, George Nassar, Joe Pillegi and David Watts will continue as regional political directors.  

Finance Director Megan Cummings will follow up on her work with the committee for two previous cycles as its PAC director in 2012 and deputy finance director in 2014. Lucy Noell Croxton and Creigh Behnke will serve as deputy finance directors.  

A veteran of the campaign committees, Todd Johnson will serve as head of the NRCC’s research department. The Tucson, Ariz., native served in the same capacity in 2014 — his sixth consecutive election cycle in research at either the NRCC or National Republican Senatorial Committee. Sean Philbin will be deputy research director.  

Jessica Furst Johnson also will stay on as general counsel and deputy executive director, marking her fourth cycle with the NRCC’s legal department. Prior to this, she represented House and Senate campaigns as an attorney with Foley & Lardner LLP. Christine Martin will be the deputy general counsel.  

Tom Newhouse will expand upon his previous role as director of the NRCC’s digital division. He previously worked for Targeted Victory, where he consulted on campaigns and third-party groups.  

Policy Director Jordan Davis will continue in that capacity for the 2016 cycle. He is a veteran of several congressional offices, including former Reps. Thelma Drake, R-Va., and Rick Berg, R-N.D.  

Katie Martin Prill will serve as communications director, following her work as southeast and midwest regional press secretary for the NRCC in 2014. She is originally from the Detroit area and also previously served as communications director for Rep. David B. McKinley, R-W.Va.  

Ian Prior, also a regional press secretary in 2014, was promoted to national press secretary for the 2016 cycle.  


Exclusive: NRSC Names Senior Staffers

NRCC Names New Executive Director for 2016

The One-Term Caucus? Top House Targets in 2016

NRCC Ending 2014 With $8.8 Million Debt

The 114th: CQ Roll Call’s Guide to the New Congress

Get breaking news alerts and more from Roll Call in your inbox or on your iPhone.

Recent Stories

McCarthy promises ‘punishment’ over Bowman fire alarm before vote

House passes stopgap funding bill to avert shutdown

Stopgap funding bills hung up in both chambers

Who are the House Republicans who opposed the stopgap budget bill?

Taking it to the limit — Congressional Hits and Misses

Feinstein broke glass ceilings during decades of Judiciary Committee work