Rep. Bonner Gets Seat on Appropriations Committee

Posted February 14, 2008 at 4:11pm

The House Republican Steering Committee voted Thursday afternoon to name Rep. Jo Bonner (Ala.) to the vacant seat on the Appropriations Committee. Bonner got the nod over fellow GOP Reps. Henry Brown (S.C.), Jeff Flake (Ariz.), Marilyn Musgrave (Colo.), Dave Reichert (Wash.) and Michael Turner (Ohio).

National Republican Congressional Committee Chairman Tom Cole (Okla.), who had also been seeking the seat, withdrew his name from contention Thursday.

Flake waged the most public campaign for the appointment, making his strong opposition to earmarks the centerpiece. Flake expressed disappointment that the Steering panel went in a different direction.

“I wish they would have. It would have sent a good signal. There’s always the floor,” Flake said.

The Steering panel also recommended Rep. Dean Heller (Nev.), a freshman, to fill a vacancy on the Financial Services panel.

— Lauren W. Whittington