Alaska: State Filing Deadline Passes With No Shocks

Posted June 3, 2008 at 6:28pm

There were no big surprises on the state ballot as the filing deadline for the Senate and House races passed Monday night. The primary is set for Aug. 26.

Sen. Ted Stevens (R) has filed for re-election for an eighth term. In the Republican primary, wealthy businessman Dave Cuddy will likely provide Stevens with his stiffest GOP competition, joining five other lesser-known Republicans on the ballot.

Anchorage Mayor Mark Begich (D) also filed to run for the office. He is joined in the Democratic primary by two frequent candidates: former GOP state Rep. Ray Metcalfe and little-known attorney Frank Vondersaar.

Rep. Don Young (R) has filed for re-election for the at-large House seat, He is challenged in the GOP primary by state Rep. Gabrielle LeDoux and Lt. Gov. Sean Parnell.

For the House Democratic primary, 2006 nominee Diane Benson and former state House Minority Leader Ethan Berkowitz have filed their candidacies.

Incumbents Stevens and Young, both under federal investigation, are considered to be vulnerable this cycle, and there was some speculation that the Senator might not run for re-election. While candidates had to file by Monday, they have until July 9 to withdraw from the ballot.

— Shira Toeplitz