Skip to content

NRCC Expands Its Program of Challengers to Watch

The National Republican Congressional Committee has promoted more than a dozen candidates to “contender” status and added dozens more to its “Young Guns” program, which aims to recognize and help House Republicans’ top challengers this cycle.

The program already has 10 candidates who have achieved Young Guns status, as well as 62 candidates in the “contender” and “on the radar” categories. The addition of 40 candidates to the program marks its biggest expansion so far.

According to a news release from the committee, the NRCC has promoted the following candidates to the second-tier “contender” status:

• Jonathan Paton in Arizona’s 8th district

• Scott Tipton in Colorado’s 3rd district

• Jim Gibbons in Iowa’s 3rd district

• Jackie Walorski in Indiana’s 2nd district

• Larry Bucshon in Indiana’s 8th district

• Brian Rooney in Michigan’s 7th district

• Rick Berg in North Dakota’s at-large district

• Joe Heck in Nevada’s 3rd district

• Richard Hanna in New York’s 24th district

• Tom Reed in New York’s 29th district

• Tom Ganley in Ohio’s 13th district

• Scott Bruun in Oregon’s 5th district

• Former Rep. Mike Fitzpatrick in Pennsylvania’s 8th district

• Lou Barletta in Pennsylvania’s 11th district

• Morgan Griffith in Virginia’s 9th district

• David McKinley in West Virginia’s 1st district

Additionally, the committee has accepted these 40 candidates into the program with third-tier “on the radar” status:

• Rick Crawford in Arkansas’ 1st district

• David Schweikert in Arizona’s 5th district

• Jim Ward in Arizona’s 5th district

• Brad Goehring in California’s 11th district

• David Harmer in California’s 11th district

• Elizabeth Emken in California’s 11th district

• Tom Herrmann in Connecticut’s 4th district

• Steve Southerland in Florida’s 2nd district

• Bruce O’Donoghue in Florida’s 8th district

• Rob Gettemy in Iowa’s 2nd district

• Bobby Schilling in Illinois’ 17th district

• Former Rep. Mike Sodrel in Indiana’s 9th district

• Kevin Yoder in Kansas’ 3rd district

• Jeff Reetz in Kentucky’s 3rd district

• Jon Golnik in Massachusetts’ 5th district

• Jeff Perry in Massachusetts’ 10th district

• Paul Welday in Michigan’s 9th district

• Steven Palazzo in Mississippi’s 4th district

• Ilario Pantano in North Carolina’s 7th district

• Hal Jordan in North Carolina’s 8th district

• Harold Johnson in North Carolina’s 8th district

• Jeff Miller in North Carolina’s 11th district

• Former Rep. Charles Bass in New Hampshire’s 2nd district

• Jon Runyan in New Jersey’s 3rd district

• Scott Sipprelle in New Jersey’s 12th district

• Chris Cox in New York’s 1st district

• Chris Gibson in New York’s 20th district

• Doug Hoffman in New York’s 23rd district

• Matt Doheny in New York’s 23rd district

• Ann Marie Buerkle in New York’s 25th district

• Mike Kelly in Pennsylvania’s 3rd district

• Paul Huber in Pennsylvania’s 3rd district

• Tom Marino in Pennsylvania’s 10th district

• Dave Argall in Pennsylvania’s 17th district

• Bert Mizusawa in Virginia’s 2nd district

• Pat Herrity in Virginia’s 11th district

• John Koster in Washington’s 2nd district

• Jaime Herrera in Washington’s 3rd district

• Marc Trager in Wisconsin’s 8th district

• Spike Maynard in West Virginia’s 3rd district

Recent Stories

High-speed routes biggest winners in latest rail funding round

Appeals court upholds most of Trump gag order in DC case

Kevin Up — Congressional Hits and Misses

House GOP cites new Hunter Biden charges in impeachment push

Congress must protect our servicemembers by reauthorizing Section 702 

Photos of the week ending December 8, 2023