Skip to content

Governor Signs New West Virginia Map

Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin signed West Virginia’s Congressional redistricting bill into law Thursday morning, the Democrat’s spokesman told Roll Call.

The new lines leave the state’s three districts, represented by two Republicans and one Democrat, almost identical for another 10 years.

The only tweak to the map, to adjust for shifting populations, was to place Mason County in Democratic Rep. Nick Rahall’s 3rd district. Under the current lines, Mason County is in Republican Rep. Shelley Moore Capito’s 2nd district.

The shift does not affect the political contours of either district.

The district of Rep. David McKinley (R), who won his first term in 2010 with just 50 percent of the vote, remains the same.

Recent Stories

It’s time to step up efforts to maximize the CHIPS and Science Act

Kissinger and the Capitol

House GOP takes new tack in advancing conservative election bills

Capitol Lens | Pointing out

House debates Rep. George Santos expulsion ahead of Friday vote

Senate Democrats authorize subpoenas related to Supreme Court ethics probe