Skip to content

DCCC Launches Robocall Campaign on Super Committee Failure

Using familiar messaging on Rep. Paul Ryan’s (R-Wis.) budget plan, the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee begins a barrage of automated calls today, targeting 30 districts of GOP House Members the party sees as vulnerable. The failure of the super committee tasked with deficit reduction is the hook for the round of calls.

“The Super Committee debate in Washington unmasked Republicans’ real priorities — more tax breaks for billionaires and Big Oil at the expense of the Medicare guarantee for seniors and creating jobs for the middle class,” DCCC Chairman Rep. Steve Israel (N.Y.) said in a statement. “Republicans want seniors who depend on a Medicare guarantee to be the first to sacrifice while billionaires wouldn’t have to sacrifice a penny. House Republicans are going to face a chilly reception from voters for trying to defend the indefensible.”

A sample script for the automated calls reads in part: “Americans demanded a bipartisan, big, bold and balanced plan to reduce the deficit and grow our economy — but that’s not what we got. The Super Committee failed because Republicans insisted on extending the Bush tax breaks for millionaires and refusing to include a jobs proposal — while ending the Medicare guarantee!”

Since the House passed Ryan’s plan in April, national Democrats have used votes in favor of the bill as the crux of the party’s 2012 messaging.

The GOP Members targeted are Reps. Paul Gosar (Ariz.), Dan Lungren (Calif.), Jeff Denham (Calif.), Scott Tipton (Colo.), Mike Coffman (Colo.), Steve Southerland (Fla.), Daniel Webster (Fla.), Vern Buchanan (Fla.), Allen West (Fla.), David Rivera (Fla.), Robert Dold (Ill.), Judy Biggert (Ill.), Tim Johnson (Ill.), Bobby Schilling (Ill.), Dan Benishek (Mich.), Tim Walberg (Mich.), Jon Runyan (N.J.), Joe Heck (Nev.), Michael Grimm (N.Y.), Ann Marie Buerkle (N.Y.), Jim Renacci (Ohio), Mike Kelly (Pa.), Mike Fitzpatrick (Pa.), Charlie Dent (Pa.), Scott DesJarlais (Tenn.), Francisco “Quico” Canseco (Texas), Sean Duffy (Wis.), Reid Ribble (Wis.), David McKinley (W.Va.) and Jaime Herrera Beutler (Wash.).

Recent Stories

Protesters run on the field while GOP runs roughshod over Dems at Congressional Baseball Game

Senate Democrats try maneuver to pass Supreme Court ethics bill

Bipartisan prior authorization legislation introduced

House Republicans hold Garland in contempt over audio recordings

FDA, DOJ hammered on response to illegal vapes

Sneakerheads in Congress grow their footprint