Ryan Elected Speaker

By Thomas McKinless
Posted October 29, 2015 at 5:11pm
Loading the player...

Speaker Paul D. Ryan is elected Speaker of the House Thursday morning. The Wisconsin Republican replaces John A. Boehner, who led an increasingly fractious conference as speaker for the last five years and delivered an emotional farewell address ahead of the vote on his final day in the House. Ryan received 236 votes, well more than the majority necessary. Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., received 184 votes and nine members voted for Rep. Daniel Webster, R-Fla.