Skip to content

How statehood is granted to U.S. territories, explained

Watch as CQ Roll Call explains the statehood process

Territorial status has historically been granted as a precursor to statehood, yet 1959 was the last time any stars were added to Old Glory.

The United States controls five inhabited territories. While their citizens are Americans, their homes are not considered states — but someday they could be. Watch as CQ Roll Call explains the statehood process.

Recent Stories

Roberts declines meeting with senators over Supreme Court ethics

‘Major ground operation’: If Biden has a Gaza ‘red line,’ Israel likely has leeway left

At the Races: Calling the cops

Latest Biden, Harris pitch to Black voters slams Trump in crucial battleground

House Ethics forms subpanel to probe Cuellar’s alleged bribery scheme

Alito rejects requests to step aside from Trump-related cases