Skip to content

Thursday’s Convention Lineup Features Obama, Stevie Wonder

A look at the schedule for the final day of the Democratic National Convention. All events will be held at Invesco Field at Mile High.

3 p.m. – 5 p.m. MDT

Live Performances (before gavel)

Yonder Mountain String Band with group members Jeff Austin, Adam Aijala, Ben Kaufmann, Dave Johnston

Voter Registration Presentation


Rep. Luis Gutierrez (Ill.)

David Plouffe, Obama campaign manager

Ray Rivera, Obama state director, Colorado

Call to Order

Speaker Nancy Pelosi (Calif.), Democratic National Convention permanent chair


Rabbi David Saperstein, director of Religious Action Center of Reform Judaism – Washington, D.C.

Presentation of Colors

Disabled American Veterans

Pledge of Allegiance

Shawn Johnson, U.S. Olympic gymnast

National Anthem

Jennifer Hudson, Academy Award-winning singer and Broadway performer


Elbra Wedgeworth, Denver Host Committee president

Presentation of Resolutions

Democratic National Committee Vice-Chairs Mark Brewer, Linda Chavez-Thompson, Mike Honda, Lottie Shackelford and Susan Turnbull


Colorado Gov. Bill Ritter Jr.

Rep. Ed Perlmutter (Colo.)

Rep. John Salazar (Colo.)

Rep. Diana DeGette (Colo.)

5 p.m. – 6 p.m. MDT

Video & Remarks

Democratic Party Chairman Howard Dean, former governor of Vermont

Video & Remarks: Tribute to Martin Luther King Jr.

Rep. John Lewis (Ga.)

The Rev. Bernice King, daughter of the late Martin Luther King Jr.

Martin Luther King III, oldest son of the late Martin Luther King Jr.


New Mexico Gov. Bill Richardson

Live Performances, accompanied by John Legend (piano), Agape Choir and band

Singer/songwriter Sheryl Crow


Ray Rivera, Obama state director, Colorado

6 p.m. – 7 p.m. MDT


Rep. Jan Schakowsky (Ill.)

Rep. Mark Udall (Colo.)

Virginia Gov. Tim Kaine

Live Performance

Stevie Wonder


Former Vice President Al Gore

7 p.m. – 8 p.m. MDT


John Kuniholm, wounded Iraq veteran

Live Performance

Singer/songwriter Michael McDonald


Susan Eisenhower, granddaughter of President Dwight D. Eisenhower

Retired Generals Tribute

Air Force Maj. Gen. J. Scott Gration, accompanied by additional generals

American Voices Program

Roy Gross, Monica Early, Wes Moore, Janet Lynn Monacco, Nate Flick, Teresa Asenap, Pamela Cash-Roper and Barney Smith


Sen. Dick Durbin (Ill.)

8 p.m. – 9 p.m. MDT


Democratic presidential candidate Sen. Barack Obama (Ill.)


Pastor Joel Hunter, senior pastor of Northland in Central Florida


Speaker Nancy Pelosi, Democratic National Convention permanent chair

Recent Stories

Bandaged Trump met with thunderous reaction at RNC light on policy plans

Congress launches investigations of security failure at Trump rally

Running mate Vance is ardent Trump backer with brief Hill tenure

Florida federal judge tosses out Trump classified documents case

Capitol Lens | Calm before the storm

Convention puts Wisconsin in spotlight, but it’s used to that