Sanders, Cruz Rank as Least Bipartisan Senators

Posted March 7, 2016 at 11:57am


Sanders was the least bipartisan senator in 2015. (Photo By Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call File Photo)
Sanders was the least bipartisan senator in 2015. (Photo By Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call File Photo)

Two of the least bipartisan senators in 2015 are running for president in 2016, a reflection of the polarized race playing out across the country.  

Presidential hopeful Sen.Bernard J. Sanders, I-Vt., placed last in bipartisanship, followed by Sen. Ted Cruz, R-Texas,  according to the Bipartisan Index rankings released Monday for the first session of the 114th Congress.  

Sen. Susan Collins, R-Maine, came in first place for bipartisanship, followed by Sens. Joe Donnelly, D-Ind., and Mark S. Kirk, R-Ill, in the index released by the The Lugar Center, led by former Sen. Richard Lugar, R-Ind., and Georgetown University’s McCourt School of Public Policy  

The rankings are based on how often members work across party lines, including bill sponsorship and co-sponsorship. A total of 38 senators received a positive score in bipartisanship for 2015, up from 36 in the 113th Congress. Sen. Joni Ernst, R-Iowa, is the last of the positive scores in 2015, and Sen. Jeanne Shaheen, D-N.H., starts the negative ratings.  

Sen. Marco Rubio, R-Fla., ranked No. 28 with a positive score and Sen. Rand Paul, R-Ky., ranked No. 51 with a negative score. In the lifetime scores of data complied between 1993 and 2014, President Barack Obama had a negative score as senator and placed 165 out of 227 for bipartisanship. Presidential hopeful Hillary Clinton also had a negative score as senator and placed 156.  

This year’s rankings do not include Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-Ky., or Minority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nev.  

In the House, Peter T. King, R-N.Y., was the most bipartisan member in 2015, followed by Reps. Chris Gibson, R-N.Y., and Kyrsten Sinema, D-Ariz. The least bipartisan member was Minority Whip Steny Hoyer, D-Md, with Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy, R-Calif., coming in third-to-last.  

Speakers John A. Boehner and Paul D. Ryan were excluded from the index, as were Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., and former Reps. Michael Grimm, R-N.Y., Aaron Schock, R-Ill., and the late Alan Nunnelee, R-Miss.  


See photos, follies, HOH Hits and Misses and more at Roll Call’s new video site.

Get breaking news alerts and more from Roll Call in your inbox or on your iPhone.